Best Qualified

I am of a mixed nationality.  At first glance, I may appear to be a minority.  I am often asked to participate on interview panels or award committees.  I would like to think it’s because of my expert knowledge or because of my integrity, but really human relations feels panels and committees are fairer if they are diverse.

 Personally, I would rather the best qualified people for a panel, committee or position.

 I would like to earn a position because I am the best qualified person, not because an employer is trying to fill a diversity quota.

Although I believe racism exists and some things are not fair; I believe some minorities have taken advantage of this.  Whining and complaining about someone else’s behavior instead of being the best they can be has led

Most of the time, I forget I’m different until someone points it out.

 

 

One thought on “Best Qualified

  1. richelarosales says:

    I’m not going to pretend that some people don’t take advantage of the system, and I’m also not going to pretend that sometimes employers hire less than qualified individuals on the basis that they’re diverse. But speaking on a personal level, if you do participate in interview panels or award committees do you feel like you’re less intelligent or have less integrity than the other participants? Because that’s giving less credit to yourself than having employers giving you less credit than you deserve, and it’s not fair not to let yourself take opportunities just because someone is ignorant.

    In high school, one of my best friends worked harder than I’ve seen anyone work, got near perfect scores in every class, got a 5 in almost every AP test (10 out of 12 and in the other two he got a 4), was part of various clubs, and then sat in my room telling me that he wasn’t sure if he got accepted in an ivy-league schools because he was half-Cuban. That was totally bypassing the fact that he had worked endlessly to get into that school and 100% deserved it. And, I don’t know, I don’t like people not giving themselves the credit they deserve just because the system is flawed.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.